Total 15 Students and One Professor of ISRT Received Dean’s Award on September 7, 2023

Fifteen meritorious students (more than 25% of the total awardees) and one professor from the Institute of Statistical Research and Training (ISRT) for the academic sessions 2018, 2019, and 2020 were honored with the prestigious Dean’s Award by the Faculty of Science at the University of Dhaka on September 7, 2023. The award ceremony took place at the Nabab Nawab Ali Chowdhury Senate Bhaban of the University.

The awardees for the academic session 2020 were Awan Afiaz, Tasmin Akter Fahim, Raisa Shamma, Priom Saha, K M Tanvir, and Nofel Ahmed. For the academic session 2019, the recipients were Silvia Khanam, Argho Dhar, Md. Rasel Biswas, Md. Abdul Basit, Safwan Shihab, Emama Amin, and Swarna Chowdhury. Md. Ariful Islam Sanim and Tasnim Ara received the award for the academic session 2018. These students earned the prestigious award in recognition of their outstanding academic achievements in the BS (Honors) degree program without the need for improvement examinations. The Dean’s Award has two categories: the Dean’s Merit Award for achieving a CGPA of 4.00 out of 4.00 and the Dean’s Honor Award for attaining a CGPA of 3.85 and above. Awan Afiaz from the academic session 2020 received the Dean’s Merit Award, while the other 14 students were honored with the Dean’s Honor Award.

In addition, Dr. Hasinur Rahaman Khan, a Professor at ISRT, was bestowed with the prestigious Dean’s Award 2019 in the Professor/Associate Professor Category. This honor was conferred in recognition of his published research article in the esteemed journal ‘Statistical Methods in Medical Research.’

The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Dhaka, Prof. Dr. Md. Akhtaruzzaman, presented the awards to all the recipients during the award ceremony. The event was presided over by the Dean of the Faculty of Science, Prof. Dr. Md. Abdus Samad, and attended by DU Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Administration), Prof. Dr. Muhammad Samad, and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Prof. Dr. A S M Maksud Kamal, as special guests.

The ISRT family extends heartfelt congratulations to all the awardees and wishes them continued success in their future endeavors.